All researched routes
Compare every route side by side
The table is dense on purpose. Figures mix editorial estimates, scoped public-pay scenarios and campus examples. Their bases differ; read the label and route notes before comparing. Shared routes appear once.
| Route | Stream | Entry pay | Mid pay | Senior pay | Exam | Years | Approx cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Assistant professor and college lecturerUniversity gross example | Science · Commerce · Arts | ₹11.77–14.54 LPA | ₹13.52–16.61 LPA | ₹15.57–19.05 LPA | UGC/CSIR NET or a permitted exemption, followed by the college recruitment process. | 5 | Not stated |
| Civil Services Officer (UPSC — IAS, IPS, IFS and others)Editorial estimates | Arts | ₹10–14 LPA | ₹14–20 LPA | ₹18–28 LPA | UPSC Civil Services Examination (Prelims, then Mains, then Interview) | 5 | ₹15,000–60,000 |
| Constable in central armed police forcesGovernment gross example | Science · Commerce · Arts | ₹4.51–5.64 LPA | ₹5.18–6.44 LPA | ₹5.97–7.37 LPA | SSC GD computer-based examination, physical tests and medical/document checks. | 0 | Not stated |
| Corporate Lawyer (law firm associate)Editorial estimates | Arts | ₹5.0–18 LPA | ₹10–35 LPA | ₹18–60 LPA | CLAT (Common Law Admission Test) for the national law universities; AILET for NLU Delhi; LSAT-India or university tests elsewhere. Entry after class 12 for the five-year integrated LLB. | 5 | ₹10–20 lakh |
| Designer (B.Des via NID / NIFT / UCEED)Editorial estimates | Arts | ₹3.5–9.0 LPA | ₹7.0–18 LPA | ₹14–35 LPA | NID DAT (Design Aptitude Test) for the National Institutes of Design, and NIFT's own entrance exam (NIFTEE, conducted by NTA) for the National Institute of Fashion Technology — both open to any class 12 stream including arts, with a written test followed by a studio test and interview. UCEED, the exam for the B.Des at IIT Bombay, IIT Delhi and five other IITs, requires class 12 Physics, Chemistry and Maths and is therefore not open to most arts-stream students despite being commonly named alongside NID and NIFT. | 4 | ₹12–18 lakh |
| Gramin Dak Sevak with India PostIndia Post starting allowance | Science · Commerce · Arts | ₹1.2–1.44 LPA | Not established | Not established | Merit selection using school results and document checks, rather than a competitive written examination. | 0 | Not stated |
| Hotel Management Professional (B.Sc HHA via NCHMCT JEE)Editorial estimates | Arts | ₹2.5–6.0 LPA | ₹5.0–12 LPA | ₹10–25 LPA | NCHMCT JEE, a single national exam conducted by the National Testing Agency for admission to the three-year B.Sc in Hospitality and Hotel Administration (B.Sc HHA) at all participating IHMs. | 3 | ₹4.93–8 lakh |
| Journalist / Mass Communication Professional (IIMC / Jamia AJK MCRC / DU)Editorial estimates | Arts | ₹3.0–7.0 LPA | ₹6.0–15 LPA | ₹10–25 LPA | CUET-PG for IIMC's postgraduate diploma programmes in journalism (Hindi, English, Radio & TV, plus Urdu, Marathi, Odia and Malayalam) since IIMC's move to CUET-PG; Jamia Millia Islamia's own entrance test for the AJK Mass Communication Research Centre's postgraduate diploma and MA programmes; CUET-UG for Delhi University's undergraduate BA (Journalism and Mass Communication) programmes. Open to any stream, including arts. | 4 | ₹60,000–2 lakh |
| Judge (state judicial services)Editorial estimates | Arts | ₹12–18 LPA | ₹16–24 LPA | ₹20–32 LPA | The state judicial service examination, run separately by each state — in Delhi it is the Delhi Judicial Service Examination, conducted by the Delhi High Court. Three stages: a preliminary objective paper, written mains papers, and an interview. You need an LLB, and since the Supreme Court's judgment of 20 May 2025 you must also have practised as an advocate for at least three years before you can sit for the entry-level post. | 8 | ₹10–17 lakh |
| Nursery and pre-primary teacherDelhi public-post basic-pay example | Science · Commerce · Arts | ₹4.25 LPA | ₹4.93 LPA | ₹5.71 LPA | DSSSB recruitment for the cited Delhi posts; private providers set their own hiring process. | 2 | Not stated |
| Physical education teacherGovernment gross example | Science · Commerce · Arts | ₹8.97–10.93 LPA | ₹10.33–12.55 LPA | ₹11.94–14.46 LPA | Employer recruitment and post-specific qualification checks. | 4 | Not stated |
| Postgraduate teacher: humanities and languagesGovernment gross example | Arts | ₹9.48–11.54 LPA | ₹10.94–13.28 LPA | ₹12.65–15.31 LPA | KVS/NVS recruitment or the relevant state/Delhi recruitment. The reviewed PGT rows do not require CTET. | 7 | Not stated |
| Primary teacher: classes 1–5Government gross example | Science · Commerce · Arts | ₹7.14–8.76 LPA | ₹8.24–10.06 LPA | ₹9.48–11.54 LPA | CTET Paper I and KVS recruitment; other employers have their own notice. | 2 | Not stated |
| Psychologist (BA/BSc Psychology via DU and CUET-UG)Editorial estimates | Arts | ₹3.0–7.0 LPA | ₹6.0–15 LPA | ₹10–30 LPA | CUET-UG for the BA/BSc Psychology (Hons), which most Delhi University and Jamia Millia Islamia colleges use for admission; CUET-PG for a Master's in Psychology afterwards. Becoming a licensed clinical psychologist additionally requires clearing separate admission to an RCI-recognised clinical psychology postgraduate programme, and then RCI registration itself — a distinct, much more selective gate that a general MA in Psychology does not open. | 6 | ₹30,000–1 lakh |
| Railway Level 1 operational postsRailway basic-pay illustration | Science · Commerce · Arts | ₹2.16 LPA | ₹2.51 LPA | ₹2.9 LPA | RRB Level 1 recruitment and required physical/medical checks. | 0 | Not stated |
| Social Worker / Development Sector ProfessionalEditorial estimates | Arts | ₹3.0–7.0 LPA | ₹6.0–14 LPA | ₹10–24 LPA | The Common University Entrance Test (CUET) — CUET-UG for a Bachelor of Social Work, CUET-PG for a Master of Social Work. The Tata Institute of Social Sciences moved its master's admissions onto CUET-PG from the 2025-26 cycle and runs a separate test only for seats left vacant afterwards. Many colleges admit to a BSW or MSW on marks alone with no exam. | 5 | ₹1–2 lakh |
| Station master and graduate railway postsRailway basic-pay illustration | Science · Commerce · Arts | ₹4.25 LPA | ₹4.93 LPA | ₹5.71 LPA | Railway Recruitment Board NTPC stages and post-specific tests. | 3 | Not stated |
| Sub-inspector in Delhi Police and central armed police forcesGovernment gross example | Science · Commerce · Arts | ₹7.14–8.76 LPA | ₹8.24–10.06 LPA | ₹9.48–11.54 LPA | SSC CPO examination, physical tests and medical/document checks. | 3 | Not stated |
| Trained graduate teacher: social studies and languagesGovernment gross example | Arts | ₹8.97–10.93 LPA | ₹10.33–12.55 LPA | ₹11.94–14.46 LPA | CTET Paper II plus the employer recruitment process for the reviewed central-school subject posts. | 5 | Not stated |
| Actuary (actuarial science)Editorial estimates | Commerce | ₹4.0–8.0 LPA | ₹10–22 LPA | ₹20–45 LPA | ACET, the Actuarial Common Entrance Test, which makes you eligible for student membership of the Institute of Actuaries of India. After that comes the professional exam series itself: the Core Principles subjects (CS1 and CS2 in statistics and risk modelling, CM1 and CM2 in actuarial and economic modelling, and the business subjects CB1, CB2 and CB3), then the Core Practices subjects (CP1, CP2 and CP3), then Specialist Principles and Specialist Advanced subjects in your chosen field such as life insurance, general insurance, health, pensions or investment. | 6 | Not stated |
| Bank Probationary Officer (public sector banks)Editorial estimates | Commerce | ₹10–15 LPA | ₹14–21 LPA | ₹18–30 LPA | SBI PO, or IBPS PO/MT for the other public sector banks — an online preliminary exam, then a main exam, then a group exercise and interview | 3.5 | Not stated |
| Central government officer through SSC CGLGovernment gross example | Science · Commerce · Arts | ₹8.97–10.93 LPA | ₹10.33–12.55 LPA | ₹11.94–14.46 LPA | SSC Combined Graduate Level examination and post-specific selection requirements. | 3 | Not stated |
| Chartered Accountant (CA)Editorial estimates | Commerce | ₹6.0–13 LPA | ₹12–25 LPA | ₹20–45 LPA | CA Foundation, then CA Intermediate (two groups), then CA Final (two groups), all set by ICAI | 4.5 | ₹49,000 |
| Company Secretary (CS)Editorial estimates | Commerce | ₹4.0–8.0 LPA | ₹8.0–18 LPA | ₹15–35 LPA | CSEET (the CS Executive Entrance Test), then the Executive Programme, then the Professional Programme — all set by ICSI | 4 | ₹50,000 |
| Cost and Management Accountant (CMA)Editorial estimates | Commerce | ₹5.0–10 LPA | ₹10–20 LPA | ₹18–35 LPA | CMA Foundation, then CMA Intermediate, then CMA Final — all set by ICMAI (The Institute of Cost Accountants of India) | 3.5 | Not stated |
| Economics degree (policy, research and financial regulation)Editorial estimates | Commerce | ₹4.0–10 LPA | ₹8.0–20 LPA | ₹15–35 LPA | CUET-UG, the Common University Entrance Test conducted by the National Testing Agency in computer-based mode, is the entrance for undergraduate admission to Delhi University and the other participating central universities. A master's degree, which most of the research and regulatory jobs expect, is entered through a university's own postgraduate entrance. For the regulator route there is then a separate national recruitment exam — SEBI runs its Officer Grade A exam with a Research stream among others, and the Reserve Bank of India recruits Grade B officers into a Department of Economic and Policy Research cadre alongside its general cadre. | 5 | ₹17,105 |
| Equity research and investment bankingEditorial estimates | Commerce | ₹6.0–18 LPA | ₹12–35 LPA | ₹25–70 LPA | There is no common entrance exam covering both careers. Employers set their own hiring requirements. Regulated research-analyst work has separate SEBI qualification, certification and registration rules; those rules do not automatically apply to every investment-banking job. Relevant NISM certification is required for the research roles covered by the regulations, with renewal needed to maintain compliance. | 5 | Not stated |
| Financial planning and wealth managementEditorial estimates | Commerce | ₹3.0–8.0 LPA | ₹7.0–18 LPA | ₹15–35 LPA | There is no entrance exam to study for this, but there is a licence to earn. To act as an investment adviser you must hold a certificate of registration from SEBI and pass the NISM-Series-X-A and NISM-Series-X-B Investment Adviser certification examinations. To sell mutual funds as a distributor you need the relevant NISM certification instead, and to sell insurance you need to satisfy IRDAI's requirements. Many planners also take the Certified Financial Planner qualification, which is not required by law. | 4 | Not stated |
| Government clerk and data-entry work after class 12Government gross example | Science · Commerce · Arts | ₹3.99–4.8 LPA | ₹4.61–5.53 LPA | ₹5.49–6.8 LPA | SSC CHSL, or the separate employer recruitment for posts such as KVS JSA. | 0 | Not stated |
| Human resources professionalHR programme: median CTC | Science · Commerce · Arts | ₹28 LPA | Not established | Not established | Course admission and employer selection differ. Check the specific programme and current employer process. | 5 | Not stated |
| Insurance officer (life and general insurance)Editorial estimates | Commerce | ₹7.0–13 LPA | ₹11–20 LPA | ₹17–30 LPA | For the public-sector insurers, a recruitment exam run by the company — LIC's Assistant Administrative Officer exam is the largest, and the general insurers and the industry regulator run their own. LIC's selection is a three-tiered process: a preliminary exam, a main exam, then an interview. Private insurers hire through campus placement and direct applications with no common exam. The Insurance Institute of India's Licentiate, Associateship and Fellowship exams are the professional qualifications taken while working. | 3.5 | Not stated |
| Management consultantMBA cohort: fixed-cash median | Science · Commerce · Arts | ₹25.59 LPA | Not established | Not established | Course admission and employer selection differ. Check the specific programme and current employer process. | 5 | Not stated |
| MBA through CAT (management)Editorial estimates | Commerce | ₹5.0–16 LPA | ₹10–30 LPA | ₹18–50 LPA | CAT, the Common Admission Test, written once a year in November and used by the IIMs and by most other business schools. It has three sections — Quantitative Ability, Data Interpretation and Logical Reasoning, and Verbal Ability and Reading Comprehension. Some schools use xat, nmat, snap or CMAT instead of, or as well as, CAT. | 5 | Not stated |
| Officer at a financial regulatorSEBI published starting package | Science · Commerce · Arts | ₹17.16–22.08 LPA | Not established | Not established | SEBI Grade A phases and interview; other regulators run separate recruitment. | 5 | Not stated |
| Postgraduate teacher: commerce subjectsGovernment gross example | Commerce | ₹9.48–11.54 LPA | ₹10.94–13.28 LPA | ₹12.65–15.31 LPA | KVS/NVS recruitment or the relevant state/Delhi recruitment. The reviewed PGT rows do not require CTET. | 7 | Not stated |
| Running a business (entrepreneurship and family business)Editorial estimates | Commerce | ₹0.0–12 LPA | ₹0.0–30 LPA | ₹0.0–60 LPA | none | 3 | Not stated |
| Agricultural Scientist / Agriculture Officer (B.Sc Hons Agriculture)Editorial estimates | Science | ₹3.0–7.0 LPA | ₹6.0–12 LPA | ₹10–20 LPA | CUET (ICAR-UG), conducted by the National Testing Agency, allots the 15% All India Quota seats at every State Agricultural University and 100% of seats at ICAR Deemed Universities (such as IARI and NDRI). Many state agricultural universities also admit through their own state-level entrance test or via the state's general engineering/medical common entrance test. There is no separate NEET-style single exam covering every seat nationally. | 4 | ₹40,000–9 lakh |
| Allied Health Professional (Physiotherapy, Lab Technology, Radiography, Optometry)Editorial estimates | Science | ₹2.5–6.0 LPA | ₹4.0–10 LPA | ₹7.0–16 LPA | In flux - check the current year's notification rather than assuming. At Delhi University-affiliated colleges, entry is currently through CUET-UG (Physiotherapy is a listed CUET-UG domain subject) or the college's own test. At GGSIPU-affiliated colleges, which run Delhi's main BPT and BOT programmes, entry is through the university's own IPU-CET, and GGSIPU has explicitly said it will keep using IPU-CET rather than NEET-UG through the 2026-27 admission cycle. Nationally, NCAHP's 2025 curriculum reform mandates NEET-UG for physiotherapy, optometry, nutrition and dialysis technology from 2026-27 onwards, so this may change college by college over the next few admission cycles. There is no single national exam the way there is for MBBS or engineering. | 4.5 | ₹50,000–6 lakh |
| Architect (B.Arch)Editorial estimates | Science | ₹2.5–6.0 LPA | ₹5.0–12 LPA | ₹8.0–20 LPA | NATA, the National Aptitude Test in Architecture, run by the Council of Architecture. JEE Main Paper 2A is the other accepted route and is what the NITs and the Schools of Planning and Architecture use. IIT Roorkee and IIT Kharagpur admit through JEE Advanced followed by an Architecture Aptitude Test. Most colleges accept one or the other; some accept both. | 5 | ₹1.5–25 lakh |
| Armed Forces Officer (via NDA)Editorial estimates | Science | ₹10–15 LPA | ₹14–22 LPA | ₹18–30 LPA | UPSC NDA and Naval Academy Examination, held twice a year, followed by a five-day Services Selection Board (SSB) interview. Air Force pilot candidates additionally sit the Computerised Pilot Selection System test. | 4 | Not stated |
| Assistant loco pilot and railway technicianRailway basic-pay illustration | Science | ₹2.39 LPA | ₹2.77 LPA | ₹3.22 LPA | RRB technical recruitment with the applicable aptitude, skill and medical checks. | 2 | Not stated |
| AYUSH Doctor (BAMS Ayurveda / BHMS Homoeopathy)Editorial estimates | Science | ₹2.5–6.0 LPA | ₹5.0–12 LPA | ₹8.0–20 LPA | NEET-UG - the same single national exam used for MBBS and BDS. There is no separate AYUSH entrance exam. The 15% All India Quota seats, including central universities and deemed universities, are allotted through AACCC (AYUSH Admissions Central Counselling Committee); the remaining 85% state-quota seats go through each state's own counselling. | 5.5 | ₹50,000–30 lakh |
| Core Engineer (Mechanical, Civil, Electrical)Editorial estimates | Science | ₹3.0–8.0 LPA | ₹7.0–16 LPA | ₹12–28 LPA | JEE Main for the NITs, the Delhi engineering colleges and most state and private colleges; JEE Advanced, which you reach by scoring high enough in JEE Main, for the 23 IITs. Later, if you want a government or public sector engineering job, the exams that matter are GATE - which most public sector companies use to shortlist graduate engineers - and the UPSC Engineering Services Examination. | 4 | ₹6–25 lakh |
| Data analyst and data scientistPay evidence incomplete | Science · Commerce · Arts | Not established | Not established | Not established | Course admission and employer selection differ. Check the specific programme and current employer process. | 4 | Not stated |
| Dentist (BDS)Editorial estimates | Science | ₹1.5–5.0 LPA | ₹3.0–10 LPA | ₹6.0–20 LPA | NEET-UG - the same single national exam used for MBBS. There is no separate dental entrance exam. | 5 | ₹50,000–40 lakh |
| Doctor (MBBS)Editorial estimates | Science | ₹6.0–12 LPA | ₹10–24 LPA | ₹18–45 LPA | NEET-UG, a single national exam taken after class 12. NEET-UG is required for admission to MBBS seats in India, government or private. NEET-PG follows later for specialisation. | 5.5 | ₹50,000–1 crore |
| Junior engineer in government departmentsGovernment gross example | Science | ₹7.14–8.76 LPA | ₹8.24–10.06 LPA | ₹9.48–11.54 LPA | SSC Junior Engineer examination and department-specific document checks. | 3 | Not stated |
| Merchant Navy OfficerEditorial estimates | Science | ₹6.0–12 LPA | ₹18–36 LPA | ₹30–60 LPA | IMU-CET (Indian Maritime University Common Entrance Test). Some private maritime academies run their own entrance tests. For the shorter DNS route you also need a shipping company to sponsor you before you can join. | 4 | ₹1.5–5 lakh |
| Nurse (B.Sc Nursing)Editorial estimates | Science | ₹2.5–5.0 LPA | ₹4.0–8.0 LPA | ₹6.0–12 LPA | For the four-year B.Sc Nursing, entry is through NEET-UG in central institutions and many states, and through state or institutional nursing entrance tests elsewhere. AIIMS and some central bodies run their own B.Sc Nursing entrance. The shorter GNM diploma is usually entered through a state nursing council process rather than NEET. | 4 | ₹20,000–10 lakh |
| Pharmacist (B.Pharm / Pharm.D)Editorial estimates | Science | ₹2.0–5.0 LPA | ₹4.0–9.0 LPA | ₹7.0–15 LPA | Varies by state, which is unusual on this route. Many states admit to B.Pharm through their own common entrance test; several admit through NEET rank; central universities including Jamia Hamdard and Delhi Pharmaceutical Sciences and Research University admit through CUET-UG; and some institutions run their own test. GPAT is the exam you take later for a funded M.Pharm. Check the specific college, because there is no single national gate here. | 4 | ₹40,000–10 lakh |
| Postgraduate teacher: science subjectsGovernment gross example | Science | ₹9.48–11.54 LPA | ₹10.94–13.28 LPA | ₹12.65–15.31 LPA | KVS/NVS recruitment or the relevant state/Delhi recruitment. The reviewed PGT rows do not require CTET. | 7 | Not stated |
| Product managerMBA cohort: fixed-cash median | Science · Commerce · Arts | ₹28.51 LPA | Not established | Not established | Course admission and employer selection differ. Check the specific programme and current employer process. | 5 | Not stated |
| Quantitative analyst and trading researcherPay evidence incomplete | Science | Not established | Not established | Not established | Course admission and employer selection differ. Check the specific programme and current employer process. | 4 | Not stated |
| Research Scientist (Pure Sciences)Editorial estimates | Science | ₹4.0–8.0 LPA | ₹8.0–16 LPA | ₹12–25 LPA | No single exam. Common routes in after class 12 are the IISER Aptitude Test (IAT) for the five-year BS-MS programme, the CUET-UG for B.Sc at central universities including Delhi University, and NEST for NISER. Later you need csir-ugc net or GATE to get a funded PhD place, and most institutes add their own written test and interview. | 10 | ₹30,000–3 lakh |
| Software Engineer (B.Tech Computer Science)Editorial estimates | Science | ₹3.5–10 LPA | ₹8.0–25 LPA | ₹15–45 LPA | JEE Main, conducted by the National Testing Agency, is the gate for almost everything: the NITs, IIITs, and the Delhi engineering colleges DTU, NSUT and IIIT-Delhi. Clearing JEE Main at a high enough rank also qualifies you to sit JEE Advanced, which is the separate and harder exam for the 23 IITs. Many private universities run their own entrance tests instead, and a few states run their own common entrance test. | 4 | ₹6–25 lakh |
| Trained graduate teacher: science and mathsGovernment gross example | Science | ₹8.97–10.93 LPA | ₹10.33–12.55 LPA | ₹11.94–14.46 LPA | CTET Paper II plus the employer recruitment process for the reviewed central-school subject posts. | 5 | Not stated |
| VLSI and chip design engineerPay evidence incomplete | Science | Not established | Not established | Not established | Course admission and employer selection differ. Check the specific programme and current employer process. | 4 | Not stated |